You are here

Faculty & Staff

We have an extraordinarily distinguished faculty that publishes widely and maintains active ties with the local community. Our graduate programs in Francophone Studies offer courses in every area of the Francophone world, including Louisiana, Canada, France, the Antilles and Haiti, Sub-Saharan Africa, and the Maghreb.

French & Francophone Studies

 

Barry Jean Ancelet, Professor and Granger & Debaillon Endowed Professor in Francophone Studies

Doctorat de troisième cycle, Université de Provence [Aix-Marseille I]

French Louisiana Folklore, Literature, Oral Tradition, and Music; Ethnolinguistics; Francophone North America

ancelet@louisiana.edu


Office: Griffin 418

 

A. David Barry, Professor and Dean Emeritus
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles

20th-Century French Philosophy and Critical Theory; Literatures from Québec, the Antilles, and Sub-Saharan Africa

dbarry@louisiana.edu

 

Loic Bourdeau, Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of California, Davis

Francophone literature and cinema from Quebec, France, and the Maghreb; Feminist and Queer studies; Postcolonial studies; Theories of transgression and marginality.

loic.bourdeau@louisiana.edu
Office: Griffin 444

 

Gaëtan Brulotte, Board of Regents Humanities Eminent Scholar Endowed Chair & Professor of Francophone Studies, Distinguished University Professor Emeritus, French and Francophone Studies, U. of South Florida at Tampa
Ph.D., École des hautes études en sciences sociales & Université Denis-Diderot (Paris VII)
brulotte@louisiana.edu
Office: Griffin 430
http://languages.usf.edu/people/gbrulotte
www.gbrulotte.com

 

Fabrice Leroy, Professor & Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs, Academic Programs 

Ph.D., Louisiana State University

19th and 20th Century French Literature; Belgian Francophone Literature; Bande Dessinée; Detective Fiction

Phone: (337) 482-5452 or (337) 482-0195

fleroy@louisiana.edu
http://www.ucs.louisiana.edu/~fil2777/
Office: Griffin 464

Tamara Lindner

Tamara Lindner, Associate Professor and French Language Program Coordinator
Ph.D., Indiana University

Louisiana French; French Linguistics
; Teaching Methodology
(337) 482-5442

tlindner@louisiana.edu
Office: Griffin 432

Ramona Mielusel

Ramona Mielusel, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Toronto

Maghreb and Contemporary France (Beur Literature and Cinema); Migrant French and Francophone Literature and Cinema; Transnational Studies 

(337) 482-5451

rxm7433@louisiana.edu
Office: Griffin 462

Amadou Ouédraogo

Amadou Ouédraogo, Associate Professor and UL Federal Credit Union II/BORSF Endowed Professor of Francophone Studies

Ph.D., University of Iowa; Doctorat de troisième cycle, Université de Grenoble

Sub-Saharan African Literature and Film; Caribbean Studies

(337) 482-5440

amadou@louisiana.edu
Office: Griffin 442

  Monica L. Wright, Associate Professor and Joseph P. Montiel Endowed Professor of French

Ph.D., Washington University in St. Louis
Medieval Studies; Arthurian Literature; Material Culture; Carnivalesque Traditions; French Civilization
(337) 482-5436
mlwright@louisiana.edu
Office: Griffin 434

Spanish

 

Antonio Baena, Master Instructor
M.A., University of Southern Mississippi
Spanish Language and Culture/Spanish Online
Second Language Acquisition
(337) 482-5435
ajb5509@louisiana.edu
Office: Griffin 436

 

Leslie Bary, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley
Modern Latin American Literature; Comparative Literature
(337) 482-6814
lbary@louisiana.edu
Website: http://www.ucs.louisiana.edu/~lxb1801/
Office: Griffin 443

Francisco García Rubio, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Connecticut
Spanish Golden Age Prose and Drama
(337) 482-5453
francisco.garcia-rubio@louisiana.edu
Office: Griffin 463

 

Anthony Musacchia, Instructor
M.A., University of New Orleans
Spanish Language and Culture
(337) 482-5715
musacchia@louisiana.edu
Office: Griffin 440

 

Nicholas Person, Instructor
M.A., Louisiana State University
Second Language Acquisition
(337) 482-5449
nickperson@louisiana.edu
Office: Griffin 438

 

Mario Sagastume, Instructor
M.A., University of Oregon, 1996
Romance Languages, Spanish & Italian and Ethnic Studies
(337) 482-6815
marios@louisiana.edu
Office: Griffin 459

 

Elise Sellers, Instructor
M.A., Mississippi State University
Spanish Language, TESOL
(337) 482-6816
cesellers@louisiana.edu
Office: Griffin 461

Rosalinda Silva-Alemany

Rosalinda Silva-Alemañy, Master Instructor
M.A., University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez
Second Language Acquisition; Language Pedagogy; Spanish Culture
(337) 482-5443
alemany@louisiana.edu
Office: Griffin 428

 

Richard Winters, Assistant Professor of Spanish and Spanish Section Coordinator
Ph.D., Indiana University
General, Romance, and Hispanic linguistics
(337) 482-5439
rwinters@louisiana.edu
Website: http://www.ucs.louisiana.edu/~rxw1111/
Office: Griffin 435

Latin American Studies

The Latin American Studies faculty is comprised of all members of the UL Lafayette research faculty, in all departments, whose work has a strong Latin American focus. Additional courses on Latin America that count for the Latin American Studies minor are taught by faculty including Dr. Lisa Graley (English) and Kathleen Espinoza (History and Geography). If you are not listed here and would like to be, please contact las@louisiana.edu.

  Leslie Bary (Modern Languages)
Ph.D. Comparative Literature, University of California at Berkeley
Latin American literature and cultural theory. Comparative studies in literature and culture. Andes, Caribbean, Brazil. Avant-garde discourse, critical race theory.
office: Griffin Hall 443
(337) 482-6814
lbary@louisiana.edu
http://www.ucs.louisiana.edu/~lxb1801/
 

Robert Buckman (Communication)
Ph.D. Journalism, University of Texas at Austin
Print journalism in Latin America
337-482-5221
rtb@louisiana.edu

  Hilton A. Córdoba (Geography)
Ph.D. Geosciences, Florida Atlantic University
Economic Geography, Urban Geography, Transportation Geography, Latin American Geography, Geography of US and Canada, Geographic Information Systems (GIS).
Office: Griffin Hall 570
Phone: (337) 482.5003
hcordoba@louisiana.edu
 

Julia Frederick (Honors)
Ph.D. History, Louisiana State University
Colonial Latin American history.
Office: Judice-Rickels Hall
337-482-6700
julia@louisiana.edu
honors.louisiana.edu

  Francisco García-Rubio (Modern Languages)
Ph.D. Spanish, University of Connecticut
Early modern and colonial literature and culture.
Office: Griffin Hall 463
337-482-5453
francisco.garcia-rubio@louisiana.edu
  Lena Oak Suk (History)
Ph.D. History, Emory University
Gender, cinema, and popular culture in modern Brazil.
Office: Griffin Hall 538
337-231-6809
lenaoaksuk@louisiana.edu
  Richard Winters (Modern Languages)
Ph.D. Hispanic Linguistics, Indiana University
Hispanic linguistics and dialectology, Latino cultures in the United States.
Office: Griffin Hall 435
337-482-5439
rwinters@louisiana.edu
http://www.ucs.louisiana.edu/~rxw1111/

Germanic Studies

Caroline Huey

Caroline Huey, Associate Professor and Department Head

Ph.D. Germanic Studies, University of Texas at Austin
Early Modern Studies; Literary Theory; Cinema
(337) 482-6812
Office: Griffin 455
chuey@louisiana.edu



English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL)

Denise Marceaux

Denise Marceaux, Master Instructor
M.A., Georgia State University; M.B.A., American Graduate School of International Management

Applied Linguistics; Teaching of English as a Second Language 

(337) 482-5441
marceaux@louisiana.edu
Office: Griffin 427

Adjunct Faculty

 

Deborah Clifton, Adjunct Instructor

Ph.D., University of Louisiana at Lafayette

French-Speaking North America; Vernacular Healing Systems; Library and Archival Science

(337) 482-5437

debbi@louisiana.edu




 

Affiliated Faculty

 

C. Ray Brassieur
Department of Anthropology

brassieur@louisiana.edu



 

Jacques Henry
Department of Sociology

jhenry@louisiana.edu



 

Jordan Kellman
Professor of History and Dean of the College of Liberal Arts
kellman@louisiana.edu



 

John Laudun
Department of English

laudun@louisiana.edu